Prizes & Fellowships

Call for the Elsa Goveia Book Prize

The ACH is pleased to invite nominations for the 2021 Elsa Goveia Book Prize. Previously awarded every three years, the ACH book prize has been awarded every two years since 1995, and recognizes excellence in the field of Caribbean history.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Any scholarly history or general work acceptable as an historical work published in 2019 or 2020 is eligible for this year’s competition.
  • Any press or place of publication will be considered.
  • Publication may be in English, Spanish, French or Dutch.
  • Work should be marked by felicity of prose style and clarity of expression.
  • Only first editions of original works will be considered.
  • Multi-authored collections, anthologies, and other such edited works are not eligible.

Call for Submissions:

Authors, publishers, managing or marketing editors, and others must submit nominations to the prize chair and adjudicating committee by December 31, 2020. The winner will be announced at the 2021 ACH Annual Conference in Guadeloupe. It is important that one copy of the book nominated be sent directly by courier or airmail to each member of the committee. Please ensure that all charges connected with mail or courier services are pre-paid.

Due to COVID-19 social distancing protocols at academic institutions, please send an email to each of the Prize Committee members to obtain their current addresses. Alternatively, you can contact the ACH Secretary-Treasurer for mailing addresses

Randy Browne (Chair)

History Department, Xavier University, USA


Dannelle Gutarra Cordero

African American Studies & Gender and Sexuality Studies, Princeton University


Chelsea Schields

Department of History

University of California, Irvine