Andrés Ramos Mattei—Neville Hall Article Prize

The Andrés Ramos Mattei-Neville Hall Article Prize is a biennial award that recognizes the best article in the field of Caribbean history.  The next prize will be awarded in 2022, and will cover work published in 2020 and 2021.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Any history or general work acceptable as an historical work published in a scholarly journal between 2020 and 2021 is eligible for the award.
  • Publication may be in English, Spanish, French or Dutch.
  • Work should be marked by felicity of prose style and clarity of expression.

Call for Submissions:

Authors, publishers, editors and others interested in submitting articles for consideration must submit nominations to the chair and other members of the adjudicating committee by January 15, 2022. The winner will be announced at the next ACH Annual Conference in Jamaica. 

It is important that one copy of the article nominated be sent directly by email, courier or airmail to each member of the committee. Due to the changing nature of the COVID-19 Pandemic, please contact Committee members by email to get their current mailing addresses if required.

The addresses for this year’s committee are:    

Kathleen Phillips- Lewis (Chair) 

Spelman College


Rebecca Goetz

New York University


Glenroy Taitt

The UWI, St. Augustine Campus