ACH Header

Conference Overview
English
Français
Español

Conference Programme
English
Français
Español

Accommodation
English
Français
Español

Transportation
English
Français
Español

Local Field Trip
English
Français
Español

Application Instructions
English
Français
Español

Conference Registration

Past Conferences
English
Français
Español

Pre-Circulated Papers
2018 Papers
2017 Papers
2016 Posters
2015 Papers
2014 Papers
2013 Papers
2012 Papers
2011 Papers

EXCURSIONS OPTIONNELLES LORS DE LA CONFÉRENCE

Trois destinations (3) sont proposées dans le cadre des excursions organisées cette année.

1. Heritage Finders Passport (mercredi 13 juin 2018)

120 $ BBS/60 $ US par personne

Cette excursion allie promenades et visites de musée dans la ville de Bridgetown, classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO, et sa garnison. Accompagné d'un guide expérimenté, nous visiterons les trois sites historiques en marge de la conférence « Bridgetown : Exchange - A Place of Mystery and Discovery » : le Nidhe Israel Museum & Synagogue (le musée et la synagogue de Nidhe Israël), le Museum of Parliament  (musée du Parlement) et la National Heroes Gallery (la galerie des héros nationaux), tous des lieux avant-gardistes, chargés d’histoire et inaugurés il y a une décennie ou plus.

Le transport sera assuré depuis le lieu de la conférence et les participants auront l'opportunité de visiter les boutiques locales de Bridgetown. La durée de la visite est de 3 heures et 30 minutes approximativement.

2. We Rum: A Grog a Day Keeps the Enemies Away (option 1 : vendredi 15 juin 2018)

200 $ BBS/100 $ US par personne

Découvrez le meilleur du rhum de la Barbade, une entreprise exceptionnelle et de sa captivante histoire en marge de la conférence « We Rum: A Grog a Day Keeps the Enemies Away ». Cette visite consacrée au rhum et à la défense explore l'impact du rhum sur l'île. Elle examine comment le développement de la canne à sucre a favorisé le renforcement de la protection de l'île à travers l’édification de la garnison militaire britannique. Joignez-vous à nous pour explorer les installations de Foursquare Rum Distillery, de Mount Gay Rum, ainsi que la ville historique de Bridgetown, classée au patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO et sa garnison, avec une escale au National Armory. La durée de ce tour est de 6 heures. Le déjeuner est inclus.

3. Pigtails and Breadfruit Tour (option 2 : vendredi 15 juin 2018)

200 $ BBS/100 $ US par personne

Explorez les origines de la gastronomie de la Barbade à l’occasion du Pigtails and Breadfruit tour. Inspirée du livre Pigtails and Breadfruit: Rituals of Slave Food d'Austin Tom Clarke, cette visite propose une histoire passionnante et une introduction délicieuse aux plats réconfortants de la Barbade. Elle mettra en valeur les influences culturelles de la nourriture traditionnelle de la Barbade et examinera les façons dont elle s'est développée et ses mutations. Cette visite guidée permettra également aux participants d'essayer le moyen de transport local.

La durée de ce tour est de 5 heures. Un repas complet est compris avec boisson offerte.

 

Tara Inniss, Secretary-Treasurer, Association of Caribbean Historians: achsecretary@gmail.com.

ACH Header

Conference Overview
English
Français
Español

Conference Programme
English
Français
Español

Accommodation
English
Français
Español

Transportation
English
Français
Español

Local Field Trip
English
Français
Español

Application Instructions
English
Français
Español

Conference Registration

Past Conferences
English
Français
Español

Pre-Circulated Papers
2018 Papers
2017 Papers
2016 Posters
2015 Papers
2014 Papers
2013 Papers
2012 Papers
2011 Papers

Local Field Trips:  

50th Annual ACH Conference

OPTIONAL CONFERENCE FIELD TRIPS

There are three (3) optional field trip destinations on offer this year.

1. Heritage Finders Passport (Wednesday, June 13, 2018)

$120 BDS/$60 US per person

This tour is an exciting combination of a walking tour and museum experiences within the UNESCO World Heritage property Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison.  Accompanied by an experienced guide, we will visit the trifecta of Heritage in Bridgetown: Exchange - A Place of Mystery and Discovery, the Nidhe Israel Museum & Synagogue and the Museum of Parliament and the National Heroes Gallery all cutting edge heritage facilities opened within the past decade or so. 

Transportation will be provided from the conference venue and participants will have the opportunity to visit the local shops of Bridgetown.  The tour will be approximately 3 hours and 30 mins and will take place in the afternoon of Wednesday, June 13, 2018.

 

2. We Rum: A Grog a Day Keeps the Enemies Away (Option 1: Friday, June 15, 2018)

$200 BDS/ $100 US per person

Experience the best in Barbados rum, great company and intriguing history on our We Rum: A Grog a Day Keeps the Enemies Away tour.  This rum and defense tour explores the impact, which rum had on the island as well as examining how sugar cane development encouraged greater protection of the island through the establishment of the British Military Garrison. Join us as we explore the facilities of Foursquare Rum Distillery, Mount Gay Rum, as well as the UNESCO World Heritage property Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison with a stop at the National Armory. The duration of this tour is 6 hours. Lunch is included.

 

3. Pigtails and Breadfruit Tour (Option 2: Friday, June 15, 2018)

$200 BDS/$100 US per person

Explore the origins of Barbadian food on our Pigtails and Breadfruit Tour.  Based on the book Pigtails and Breadfruit: Rituals of Slave Food by Austin Tom Clarke, the tour offers exciting history and a delicious introduction to Barbadian comfort foods.  The tour will showcase the cultural influences found in traditional Barbadian food and examine the ways in which it has developed and changed.  The tour will also allow participants to sample Barbadian fare along the route.

The duration of this tour is 5 hrs. All food is included along with a complimentary drink.

 

Tara Inniss, Secretary-Treasurer, Association of Caribbean Historians: achsecretary@gmail.com.